Options

Amstrad, Sky+ and TiVo

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 3
Forum Member
Greetings all,

I am fairly new to Sky+, my father has been banging on about it for over a year now and I have always told him to keep quiet and rattled through all the features the Thompson TiVo has compared with Sky. Ok ok you effectively have two tuners with Sky+ but everything else is just childs play.

However....I made a call, moved house and decided (as I can now get Satellite which was not permitted in my previous property) to go for Sky+. My reason was simple, less boxes, wires, simplicity etc. Which for me is pretty good going as I am in IT and usually go for the complex option!

Another really great thing I liked was TV link, yes ok it is analogue and mono but it does the job and means I don't have a million and one radio frequencies buzzing round the house, what with the video senders, wireless LAN and dect phones.

So the usual cock ups occurred with the engineer turning up etc but eventually I had a lovely new Amstrad Sky+ box, I was quite proud because I thought it looked a lot nicer than my Dad's PACE receiver....boy was I wrong!

Our box crashes on average of once every three days and sods law most of the time during a recording! This of course is not great but what is even worse is having your Jewish wife going bananas every time it happens :)

I have called Sky on a number of occasions who have been completely dismissive, I asked whether they could send a PACE? They said no, I asked if they knew about these issues, they said no and finally they told me they wouldn't even replace the box until they had some ignorant engineer turn up and nod his head and say "hrrrm, can't say I have seen that before".

I understand that new technology needs patching believe me and TiVo were great at this, but come on this is pretty much a known fault.

Fault = use Sky in one room, TV link in the other and you get green vertical line and reboot.