Options

Sky and Vonage

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 150
Forum Member
Anyone know if its possible to have a Sky box use the Vonage VoIP service as its return path?

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 227
    Forum Member
    belumo2004 wrote:
    Anyone know if its possible to have a Sky box use the Vonage VoIP service as its return path?

I can't be 100% sure on this one as I've never used Vonage before, but I have used BT Broadband Voice.

Sky will only normally accept a telephone number starting 01/02, i dont know if Vonage supply these?

When i was with BTBBV it wasn't possible to use a Fax or Dial-up modem with the service as it just didn't work.

Hope this helps.

David
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 3,008
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Vonage technical imformation says the service works with a Fax - but I don't know if you have to have a Fax line for that service.

If it does work with a Fax is the caperbility to pass a 9.6 or 14.4k modem signal enough for the Sky return path?

Anyone know the return path requirements.

Vonage do provide a "real" UK phone number with correct Caller ID. For the £9.99 a month they charge for the basic service you can choose a number of locations for that real number to appear to come from.
  • Options
    blueplatinumblueplatinum Posts: 1,620
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I have tried this with Sipgate and, although I can send a fax I could not get my Sky boxes to successfully "phone home".

The number dialled is 08007317929, but I never get a modem connection, even though I can hear the remote modem answer.

BTW - I am using a Grandstream 286 Analogue to VOIP adapter.
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 7
    Forum Member
    works with a grandstream 486 and voiptalk (2.99 a month). . .
  • Options
    CitySlickerCitySlicker Posts: 10,414
    Forum Member
    ✭✭