Options

Connecting Sky HD to a TV...

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I’m new to the whole HD thing.

Do we know yet how the new Sky HD box will connect to the TV? I’ve heard that the box will be compatible with non-HD ready TV’s, so I assume one of the outputs will be via scart. Is that right?
Also will the HD connector be the same as the one you would use to connect your PC to your TV?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,819
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    The high definition connectors will be a digital HDMI port and an analogue component video set of phonos.

SCART will be on the box, but it won't be HD.
  • Options
    NoEntry2kNoEntry2k Posts: 15,003
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Is the HDMI port the same as a PC connector cable (as you would use to connect a PC to a LCD TV), it looks like it to the naked eye but i could be totoally wrong?
  • Options
    camajcamaj Posts: 817
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Do you mean VGA or DVI? Either way HDMI isn't like either although you can get hdmi-dvi converters.

If you don't have a display that can accept component then you'll only be able to watch in SD, not HD. Are you planning on getting the box then the tv a little while after?
  • Options
    Dan27Dan27 Posts: 9,652
    Forum Member
    OK, here goes.

SKY HD OUTPUTS

VIDEO

HDMI (HDCP compliant) - Not recordable
    (will receive ALL SD and HD channels, and will carry Dolby 5.1 sound)
    HDMI PICTURE

Component (Not HDCP compliant) - Recordable with a HD-DVD/BluRay recorder
    (will receive all SD & HD channels that dont carry HDCP. No sound carried)
    COMPONENT PICTURE

Scart (RGB)
    (will allow delivery and recording of SD broadcasts)
    RGB SCART PICTURE

AUDIO

RCA (L&R) (carrys stereo surround)
    RCA PICTURE (red and white outputs)

Toslink Optical (carrys Dolby Digital 5.1)
    TOSLINK PICTURE
  • Options
    Digibear1Digibear1 Posts: 288
    Forum Member
    DanVitale wrote:
    OK, here goes.