Options

Women get away with murder!

SystemSystem Posts: 2,096,970
Forum Member
✭✭✭✭✭
Women get away with murder! :)

Following on from the scenario described here (sorry for hi-jacking your thread, Doc; thought I'd redeem myself a bit by continuing in a fresh one), I've just come back home. I'm a software developer to trade, and am currently in the process of looking for a new job. I was at a 2nd interview/test this morning (as explained in the referenced post), and found that I couldn't remember any more than the basics about the type of application they'd asked me to design (an ASP.net project, which I was to design over the course of four hours this morning; being more of a windows-based developer, I haven't designed one of those in just over two years now). After a couple of hours re-familiarising myself with the base concepts, I just knew that I wasn't going to be able to finish in the time given. I held my hands up to that, and went next door to talk to the guy who owns the company about the situation. Instead of thanking me for my time and showing me the door, as would perhaps have happened in years gone past, he instead made me a coffee and gave me a couple of chocolate hob-knobs. We had a bit of a chat in the 'kitchen' (a converted disabled toilet; definitely the low point of the building, and not at all indicative of how well-ordered the rest of the place is) as the coffee was being made. Pausing only briefly on his way out to inadvertently switch the hand drier on with his arse, he proceeded to give me a bit of a tour of their offices. It was at this juncture that I got a bit of an insight into why they might be prepared to overlook some shortcomings in my case: there wasn't a single woman. Anywhere. At all. They could definitely do with a feminine touch in that place. Anyway, I went back into the interview/test room, to wait for their head developer (a rather charming Russian gentleman whom I'd be working under – :) – if I were to get the job), to disc