Options

A comment I heard tonight on TV (Kate Moss documentary)...

SystemSystem Posts: 2,096,970
Forum Member
✭✭✭✭✭
I watched the Kate Moss documentary on TV tonight, out of curiosity more than anything.

I just commented on a thread elsewhere about it ...

http://forum.digitalspy.co.uk/board/showthread.php?p=5775726#post5775726

Now the last bit of this message has made me really cross.

(even though I wrote it, I am talking of a quote off TV:))

the bit that made me go 'arghhh' was when Sophie Anderton said that beautiful women, like her and Kate, have a hard time of it. And when some sleaze sells their story to a paper, to her it compares, in her mind, to being raped.

That is not a direct quote but pretty much what she said, in fact I may have toned it down. :rolleyes:

I thought that comment was very very crass. And I don't mind Sophie usually.

Okay , quite serious post by me for a change.

My point is, I have no personal experience of drug abuse, people selling my stories to the papers or indeed rape thankfully (sorry to be so serious but this comment disturbed me) and so I am only talking of how I feel about things. But does anyone else get mad when words are bandied around like that to cover another thing that is totally unrelated? Is selling a story to a newspaper the same as rape as Sophie says? I may have no personal experience of it but it makes me quite emotional. It seemed wierd to hear it just talked about like that, matter of factly.

And there are many other examples of words being used to cover things that are not actually what they really are. I can't think of any off the top of my head, but I am sure some of you can.

I can't see that at all, yet of course have never been in a paper like Kate or Sophie.

However, as a woman, I think using a word like that is very strong and not very applicable imo.

I am probably not making sense, I have had a bit of a weird night before that.